I want a DCSS-like game on my iPhone, plain and simple. There are a couple of good RLs on the platform, but they’re not quite what I’m looking for. I want a DCSS-alike so much, in fact, that I’m going to try to write one in my (guffaw!) copious spare time. And to further stress that (chortle!) copious spare time past the breaking point, I’m going to write about it as I do it.

The title of the blog is no accident (and, sadly, likely to be optimistic đŸ˜‰ ). Between two kids and a full time (++) job, fun coding time is sorely lacking. So, if I can get anything up and running 70 days from now, I’ll be quite happy about it. Still, it’s good to have a goal. Luckily the vast expanse of the intertubes will ensure that no one sees this blog until well past that 70 days is over…

This’ll be a from-scratch effort, actually prototyped in .Net on Windows first. It didn’t take long in XCode to determine that I’ll be far more productive sticking in C# & VS for now. If things go well enough, then I’ll take the step to pick up a MacBook and convert it over to Objective C conversion.

I’m not sure if this’ll be a coffee-break rogue-like, or something more involved; but it’ll (1) be something that you can pick up and drop at any time, and (2) far closer to DCSS than DF in terms of cognitive requirements to play ;).

Note that if by any miracle I complete this, there’s a chance I’ll charge for the game (something cheap, inline with other Rogue games).  that said, if I post code here, it’s yours to do with as you please.  If anyone actually wants to use the code, let me know and I’ll wrap a more official license around it (free use, etc etc) so that you can use it without any concerns.

Hmm, wonder if the title of the blog should be 70DDCSSL instead…

